ethanklosterman@gmail.com || 937.479.5892

Chicago, Chicago

Chicago, skyline, Sears, willis, tower, Lake michigan

For those of you who may not know, starting January 20th, I’ll be leaving my easy-going life in Dayton and moving to Madrid until the middle of June for study abroad. From Dayton and its 165,000 people English speakers to Madrid and its 5.1 million Spanish speakers

Crazy/awesome, I know.

My trip starts Jan. 19th and first takes me to Chicago for a five-ish hour layover and then finally off to Spain. Luckily I’ll have a travel companion the whole time. My friend, Brenda, from high school is also going to Comillas Pontifical University. We’ve coordinated our flights so not only do we have the same flights from the 937 to Chi-town and Chicago to Madrid, but we also are supposed to have seats right next to each other. Oh and we’re going to be in the same apartment!

So, does Chicago relate to this trip in any other way? Indeed it does.

If I were to describe the process of getting a Spanish visa with one word, I’d say it’s a breeze. All one has to do is make a trip to the nearest Spanish consulate, attend a five minute appointment, sign a few papers, pay the fees, and wait until the joyous day when you get the consulate’s notification that your visa is ready. There’s only one catch. Where is the nearest consulate to Dayton? Ding ding ding! Chicago, Illinois!

Dayton to Chicago

So let’s do the math, that’s 5+ hours up, 5+ hours back (that’s the first trip), then 5+ hour trip up, and yet another 5+ hour trip back. I’m no math whiz, but last time I checked 5 x 4=20. Twenty hours of driving just to get the visa. Wonderful!

Today is Jan. 10th. I leave on the 19th. I’m still awaiting my email from the consulate. In full disclosure, I didn’t apply for my visa until Dec. 16. My fault. Pardon my rant, it’s just that if I don’t have a visa, I don’t go to Spain!

I’ve been working on figuring out what we’re going to do for housing once we arrive and making sure my classes are being taught in English. (Yes, I know. I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to live in a city that speaks Spanish. Who am I kidding; I’m not going to get very far on my three years of high school Spanish. Sorry Señora Adcock and Regan.) Flights booked? Yes. Passport? Yes. Visa? Hopefully, maybe, possibly, but technically no. Packed? I’ll plead the 5th on that one.

The shots above and below are from Dad and my first trip (ever) to the Windy City on a nice Friday in mid-December.

Garrett Popcorn, food, Garrett's

Upon recommendation from multiple Chicago friends, Dad and I made the stop into Garrett Popcorn. I recommend the caramel.

The lake from Willis Tower, Lake Michigan, Chicago, Illinois, skyline, Sears

Pops and I went up in the Willis (Sears) Tower. We lucked out on it being such a bright, sunny day.

Posts and photos from my European adventure are just a couple weeks away!

2 responses

  1. That’s a great photo of the CaramelCrisp, Ethan. Thanks for stopping by Garrett Popcorn!

    January 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to coming back once I get back to the States! How many locations do y’all have?

      April 26, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Add your 2¢

